Community Profiles Now Include More Places to Explore

We've enhanced the "Places" section of our Community Profiles to make it easier for you to discover popular nearby places.

Indiana Gazetteer

Indiana - Basic Information

Became a State: December 11, 1816 - 19th State
Population: 6,483,802 (2010 Census) - Ranks 15th
Land Area: 35,826.1 square miles - Ranks 38th
Population Density: 181.0 persons per square mile - Ranks 16th
Housing Units: 2,795,541 (2010 Census)
Housing Unit Density: 78.0 housing units per square mile
July 1, 2023 Estimates: Indiana Data and Demographics
State Capital: Indianapolis
State Website: Official State of Indiana Website
Indiana State Flag
Indiana state flag

Quick & Easy Ways to...

  1. Get Current Demographic Data for Cities, Towns, and ZIP Codes
  2. View Boundary Maps, for Cities, Towns, and ZIP Codes
  3. Locate Physical, Cultural, and Historical Features

Use HTL Address Research for a Indiana Address and get...

Boundary Maps, Demographic Data, School Zones Review maps and data for the neighborhood, city, county, ZIP Code, and school zone. July 1, 2023, data includes home values, household income, percentage of homes owned, rented or vacant, etc.

Indiana Neighborhood Explorer

NOTE: The BEST tool for researching a neighborhood is the HTL Address Research Tool (above). However, if you do not have an address, the Indiana Neighborhood Explorer is the SECOND-BEST-TOOL to research a neighborhood (it provides a subset of the information that the Address Research Tool provides), but you can get a report by simply marking a spot on a map.

The Indiana Neighborhood Explorer helps you to research any Indiana neighborhood (census block group) and get home values, average household income, owner/renter/ occupancy rates, projected growth rates, boundary maps, comparisons to other communities, and much more.

Simply mark a spot on a state map and you'll have your results within 3-seconds!

Indiana Neighborhood Explorer

Indiana History

Indiana State Flower
Indiana State Flower - Peony

The area of Indiana was part of the original territory of the United States, being part of lands ceded by four states to the United States and designated in 1787 as the "Territory northwest of the River Ohio." Indiana Territory was organized on May 7, 1800, from the western part of the Northwest Territory; it included all of present-day Illinois, nearly all of Indiana and Wisconsin, the western part of the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, and northeastern Minnesota. Indiana Territory was greatly reduced by the organization of Michigan Territory in 1805 and Illinois Territory in 1809. Indiana Territory was increased in 1816 by the addition of a strip of land that set the northern boundary between Indiana and Michigan territories and was reduced by relinquishing territory in the Upper Peninsula to Michigan Territory. Indiana was admitted to the Union on June 29, 1816, as the 19th state, with generally the same boundary as the present state.

Although the territory had not yet been legally established, census data for Indiana are available beginning with the 1800 census. The 1810 population includes a small population in territory now within Michigan (most of this area was not enumerated, being primarily unceded American Indian lands). For an explanation of the revision to the 1800 population of Indiana, see Richard L. Forstall, Population of States and Counties of the United States: 1790-1990, Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1996, page 52.

Data for the legally established state of Indiana are available beginning with the 1820 census.

Indiana Geographical Areas

See: Geographic Terms & Concepts

Counties & County Equivalents

Interactive Map of Indiana Counties | Static Overview Map of Indiana Counties

There are 92 counties in Indiana. Marion County does not function as a separate governmental unit; it consolidated governmental functions with Indianapolis city on January 1, 1970 but they are not coextensive.  The governing body in each of the other counties is a board of commissioners.

County Subdivisions

There are 1,011 county subdivisions in Indiana known as minor civil divisions (MCDs). There are 1,008 townships which are functioning, but not necessarily active, governmental units.  There is one unorganized territory, Camp Atterbury in Bartholomew County, and two county subdivisions not defined, each comprised of the portions of Lake Michigan within Indiana.  Each active and functioning MCD is governed by a board of trustees.

Places (Incorporated Cities, Towns & Census Designated Places (CDPs))

Indiana State Bird
Indiana State Bird - Cardinal

Indiana has 681 places; 568 incorporated places and 113 census designated places (CDPs).  The incorporated places consist of 117 cities, 450 towns, and one balance of place representing the portion of the Indianapolis consolidated city that is outside of the incorporated municipalities.  Indianapolis city consolidated governmental functions with Marion County as become a consolidated city comprised of the portion of Marion County (including 12 municipalities) outside the incorporated places of Beech Grove, Lawrence, Southport, and Speedway.

Cities in Indiana are separated into classes based on population:

Class  Population
First class cities   250,000 or greater
Second class cities 35,000 to 249,999
Third class cities Less than 34,999

Cities must have a minimum population of 2,001.  Towns are established as those incorporated places having fewer than 2,000 people. Provision is made for towns with a population of more than 2,000 to become cities by petition of voters and a referendum.  However, some places having a population more than 2,000 still are classified as towns because they have not held the election necessary to become a city (for example, the town of Speedway).

Incorporated places are dependent within county subdivision with the exception of Indianapolis city and Terre Haute city.

Alphabetical List of Cities, Towns, CDPs and Other Populated Places
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q, R | S | T | U, V | W, X, Y, Z

Indiana Civil Features

Indiana Civil Features: Political Subdivisions, Native Areas, Land Grants, etc. - sorted by Census Class Codes.

Metropolitan and Micropolitan Statistical Areas

There are 11 Metropolitan and 26 Micropolitan Statistical Areas in Indiana. IN Metopolitan & Micropolitan Areas

Indiana ZIP Code Tabulation Areas

There are 776 ZIP Code tabulation areas (ZCTAs) in Indiana. View Indiana ZIP Codes and ZIP Code Maps.

School Districts

Indiana has 294 unified school districts. View Indiana Public and Private Schools.

Congressional Districts

Indiana has 9 congressional districts. An interactive map shows the contact information for each Representative as well as the boundaries for each Indiana district. View Map of Indiana Congressional Districts.

State Legislative Districts

There are 50 state senate districts and 100 state house districts in Indiana.

Indiana Physical, Cultural and Historic Features

  1. Indiana Physical Features such as lakes, islands, streams, valleys, summits, etc.
  2. Indiana Cultural Features such as schools, churches, hospitals, parks, dams, reservoirs, etc.
  3. Indiana Historical Features and Indiana Historic Landmarks

Indiana Maps

  • To find a ZIP Code: input the address in the top-left search box of any ZIP Code Map.
  • To find the County: input the address in the top-left search box of the interactive IN map.
  • To find the School Attendance Zone: input the address in the top-left search box of any IN school map

Quick & Easy Ways to...

  1. Get Current Demographic Data for Cities, Towns, and ZIP Codes
  2. View Boundary Maps, for Cities, Towns, and ZIP Codes
  3. Locate Physical, Cultural, and Historical Features

Indiana Census Data Comparison Tool

Compare Indiana July 1, 2023 Data
Highest or Lowest: